About Us

The Seattle University Rowing Foundation

Est. 2010

What we are:
The Seattle University Rowing Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) in the State of Washington. We were founded in 2010, and incorporated on March 3, 2013. Our roots go back to late 2007. Please see our Bylaws, here: SURF Bylaws 2014.

Our Mission:
The Seattle University Rowing Foundation (SURF) exists to unite the alumni, friends, and current members of Seattle University Crew in order to provide a community, a network, and an institutional memory for the participants and alumni of the sport at Seattle University. Additionally, our charge is to protect, strengthen, and support the Rowing program and ensure its successful continuation.

Membership in the SURF is open to all friends, alumni, and supporters of Women’s Rowing, Men’s Crew, and the SU Rowing Foundation, who in any way support the Teams or Foundation, or wish to do so. Our only request for membership is that you participate, in person or via email or other means, in our Annual Member Meeting in May. We are a member organization, and our operation depends on you!

Annual Meeting:
The annual meeting is the time when the nonprofit corporation’s membership elects board members, votes on certain SURF business items and organizational topics, and gets updates from the men’s and women’s coaches and the men’s student-officers.

Once you have been added as a member, you will receive an email agenda in the weeks prior to the Annual Meeting, with all the information you need for the meeting itself.

Contact us to join!

Board of Directors, and Officers:
Members elect Board Members at our Annual Meeting, and the Board of Directors elects the Executive Committee.

Help us expand our Alumni Database!
We are developing a comprehensive database of all SU rowing alumni, but need your help. We have a couple hundred people so far, but many entries do not have current contact information. If you remember any of the names of people you rowed with, or know their current email or phone number, let us know, so we can reach out to them and get them onboard – or please introduce us! If you wish to contact them as well, please do!

SU Rowing Foundation Board of Directors

Executive Committee, 2018-2019
Ken Southcott ’92, Chair
Samuel Nelsen ’10, Vice Chair
James Hidalgo ’97, Treasurer
Alex Golbek ’16, Secretary

Board of Directors, 2018-2019
Alex Golbek ’16*
Dan Harrison ’13
Derek Heath ’20, Men’s Team President
James Hidalgo ’97*
Nicole Martin, Men’s Head Coach
Brooke McCulloch ’15
Samuel Nelsen ’10*
Jenny Park, Women’s Head Coach
Ken Southcott ’92*
*Denotes SURF officer.